LCD Soundsystem (a brief musical diversion)

13 Nov
IMG_0306
The ever-potent combo of iPhone camera and tipsy photographer

I ventured out to Cardiff International Arena last night to catch LCD Soundsystem and Hot Chip. Now you may well wonder what I’m doing posting on this, which is on the face of it neither cheap, food-related nor off the beaten track. But I’m going to shoe-horn it in anyway, for the following tenuous reasons:

  • It was the first time I’d been to an arena show, so bit of an unknown quantity for me. Once I got over the general leisure-centre vibe, I was actually pretty impressed with the place.
  • What did strike me as weird (getting onto edibles), however, was the fact that hot-dogs and other such snacks were on sale within the main room of the venue. Maybe this is common practice at such large-scale events, but to me, unless you’re outside at a festival, the scent of pigs cooking isn’t really conducive to getting your “night out” head on.
  • James Murphy looked as if he’d been attacking said food products with missionary zeal, over a long period. However, despite his increasingly cuddly dimensions, the man knows exactly how to rock the house, no matter how meaty it may smell. Perhaps he’s been paying attention to the sound advice offered by the Harmony Central Singer’s Forum on eating before a gig. Or perhaps not.

I, on the other hand, managed to resist the overpriced porky lures on offer, so we’ll leave the matter there shall we?

Leave a Reply

